Points of personal clarification

Wow, when we were down in Belize I got asked a dozen times why the name Carbunkle Trumpet for my blog and what is 595 that is on my facebook account, I didn’t think anyone read this damned thing, I am humbled. Ok first thing first, the name Carbunkle Trumpet.
While I was attending college I was the sports trainer for the men’s tennis team which meant that the only Americans were myself and the head coach. My roommate on the road was the assistant coach who happened to be from Kent England and let’s just say that he and I shared a common interest in that we loved to gamble! I am not going to go into detail but we would bet on English Football (Soccer) each week and as luck would have it, I got pretty good at picking the winners considering I didn’t bet with my heart. Now to place bets you had to have an alias so for the longest time I was “The Yank from Tennessee”. Now this did not set well with those who were in the UK as each week I was listed in the top 25 percentile and they were calling me “The Carbuncle” aka the boil or the rash as they were a little peeved that a Yank was dipping into their cash bucket each week. I of course took it with great pride so I changed my betting name to Carbunkle Trumpet as I am also a fan of Blues music and hence the name and legend was born.
Now where in the hell is Bar 595 and what is up with all of these Coozies? When Ms Trumpet and I were moving into our house we had a room off the living room that would be considered a ‘Florida room’ or sitting room, considering I am an Semi Pro Alcoholic and huge kid at heart we decided to make it a bar. The front and back sections were gifts from my parents and I ordered one of those Frontgate house markers that didn’t fit on the house so I put it on the wall above the booze and we started calling the bar ‘Bar 595’. Over the years (and when Ms Trumpet is out of town for business) the bar has evolved into a cross between Moroccan nights meets House of Blues with tons of memorabilia on the walls. As far as the coozie each year for Musicfest we put out a beer coozie and have a funny saying on the back of it, this year is “Stop yelling at me!” but it gets better. A very good friend of mine who lives over in England travels around the world for business and pleasure and he photographs the coozie at various places. English Mike is the ambassador of good will for the bar and in return he gets to drink for free and gets free room and board for Memphis in May BBQ fest for the rest of his life. He and I always end our correspondence with TTQ (To the Queen) to which I have to give my Elvis shout outs as TTK (To the King), ok enough talking to the pictures!

Front of the bar and you can see the close proximity of the living room

One of the french doors covered in “Where’s 595” photos all across the world

Assorted crap and trinkets on the other door

My prized humidor made by Graniels down in San Pedro Belize
The reminder of Belize each mask was purchased on our trip down to San Pedro and we hang it to remind us of the good times we had. Right now we have 11 under our belt or on the wall!

Yes that is a TV in the bar and yes there is a flat screen 5 feet away but Bar 595 has to be a sports bar right?

This year’s coozie

English Mike working hard promoting the bar with the reef gials!

Here the coozie is taking in some music at Live 8In China with the Tera Cota Soldiers

On the back of the car (to the right of the armed soldier) there are two 595 bumper stickers! This photo is at the Mongolian border during the Mongolian Rally (Beat that Travelocity gnome!)

This isn’t Russia, is this Russia? 595 in Red Square!
595 at Bristol (Salute!)

Now the coozies isn’t all just fun and games, here he is taking in some culture!

Speaking of culture…. (Kidding Peter) you actually need a coozie here because the beer so damn cold! That and the people who hang out are pretty nice as well!

Ok, enough about that, my only fear about having a full service bar in my house is my 4 year old nephew will go to his little private Catholic school one day and inform the teacher that his Uncle Bobo and Aunt Sissy let him make drinks and fetch cold pops! Ah his teachers love me anyway for some of his saying now!

Now I got to start working on my Belize Trip report(s)

And so TTQ and TTK!

6 comments

  1. Love the story CBT! Bring me a 595 coozie and I’ll take it travelin’ for you!!! Hey, don’t you need a belt across the top of your mask collection???That may be the absolute best picture I’ve ever seen of Pedro!Great seeing you last week and only looking forward to more fun in February!Cindy (and Renita too)

    Like

  2. Love the story CBT! Bring me a 595 coozie and I’ll take it travelin’ for you!!! Hey, don’t you need a belt across the top of your mask collection???That may be the absolute best picture I’ve ever seen of Pedro!Great seeing you last week and only looking forward to more fun in February!Cindy (and Renita too)

    Like

  3. Robo, I love the blog even though it did make me blush. Looking forward to taking the coozie to South Korea, Denmark and hopefuly Hong Kong in 2009. Counting down the days until MIM BBQ Fest 09.See ya soon my older twin broTTQEnglish Mike

    Like

  4. Robo, I love the blog even though it did make me blush. Looking forward to taking the coozie to South Korea, Denmark and hopefuly Hong Kong in 2009. Counting down the days until MIM BBQ Fest 09.See ya soon my older twin broTTQEnglish Mike

    Like

Leave a Reply

