2 years ago to this day!

There are few dates that I keep circled on my calender; immediate family’s birthdays, good friend’s birthdays/anniversaries , our wedding anniversary, Dead Elvis day, date of our engagement (easy that is Pearl Harbor day), deaths of some people that I will forever miss and the date that Mrs Trumpet and I stopped contributing to the Tobacco industry. Today is the 2 year anniversary that we stopped dipping and smoking cigarettes and I must say that looking back I DON”T KNOW HOW IN THE HELL WE DID IT, THAT WAS AND STILL IS HARD AS HELL!
What is somewhat comical is that my addiction to smokeless tobacco (I would say that I am roughly a 2 pack a day smoker) is not prescription worthy to get Chantix the anti-smoking drug so I had to lie and say I was a smoker. (wonder why I quit going to my old doc from the previous blog entry?) I would say that Ms Trumpet is equal in her tobacco usage as we both were spending enough money on tobacco that I am sad to say paid for 2 trips to Belize as I kept the money each week and threw it into a bucket each week.
To quit dipping/smoking is something that you can not just say “Oh we are going to do this next week” you have to prepare yourself to treat the addiction to tobacco much like an alcoholic or drug addict has to do it – On day at a time! It took me 2 months into the stop date to realize that after I ate boxes upon boxes of Mike and Ike candies, went so far to put tea bags in my lip to mimic dip but after you get over the “Hot feet” syndrome that you realize that it is more behavioral and that still makes you miss it.
Now here is where I am breaking one of my golden rules and am getting up on my soap box so I am now 5 foot 8 inches tall – For those who just started quitting – KEEP GOING, IF YOU FALL DOWN GET YOUR ARSE BACK UP AND KEEP GOING! Do I miss it? I miss it everyday and I can promise you that I still have to battle each it each and every day!

Now since it is our big 2 year anniversary what are our plans? Big dinner or stuff like that? Nah I have not seen my feet in a year and a half but I am ok with it, I am in the bar writing this (Hey Honey I am blogging) and the love of my life is in the kitchen working on some work. We are having some leftover chili and I guess I need to lay off the beer but this economy sure does make one want to dull some pain.

Maria, Simon, Charlie and any others who read this who need help – Keep it up and shoot me an email if ya need some encouragement, you can do it!!!

I promise the next post will have pics!
TTK!

4 comments

Leave a Reply

2 years ago to this day!

There are few dates that I keep circled on my calender; immediate family’s birthdays, good friend’s birthdays/anniversaries , our wedding anniversary, Dead Elvis day, date of our engagement (easy that is Pearl Harbor day), deaths of some people that I will forever miss and the date that Mrs Trumpet and I stopped contributing to the Tobacco industry. Today is the 2 year anniversary that we stopped dipping and smoking cigarettes and I must say that looking back I DON”T KNOW HOW IN THE HELL WE DID IT, THAT WAS AND STILL IS HARD AS HELL!
What is somewhat comical is that my addiction to smokeless tobacco (I would say that I am roughly a 2 pack a day smoker) is not prescription worthy to get Chantix the anti-smoking drug so I had to lie and say I was a smoker. (wonder why I quit going to my old doc from the previous blog entry?) I would say that Ms Trumpet is equal in her tobacco usage as we both were spending enough money on tobacco that I am sad to say paid for 2 trips to Belize as I kept the money each week and threw it into a bucket each week.
To quit dipping/smoking is something that you can not just say “Oh we are going to do this next week” you have to prepare yourself to treat the addiction to tobacco much like an alcoholic or drug addict has to do it – On day at a time! It took me 2 months into the stop date to realize that after I ate boxes upon boxes of Mike and Ike candies, went so far to put tea bags in my lip to mimic dip but after you get over the “Hot feet” syndrome that you realize that it is more behavioral and that still makes you miss it.
Now here is where I am breaking one of my golden rules and am getting up on my soap box so I am now 5 foot 8 inches tall – For those who just started quitting – KEEP GOING, IF YOU FALL DOWN GET YOUR ARSE BACK UP AND KEEP GOING! Do I miss it? I miss it everyday and I can promise you that I still have to battle each it each and every day!

Now since it is our big 2 year anniversary what are our plans? Big dinner or stuff like that? Nah I have not seen my feet in a year and a half but I am ok with it, I am in the bar writing this (Hey Honey I am blogging) and the love of my life is in the kitchen working on some work. We are having some leftover chili and I guess I need to lay off the beer but this economy sure does make one want to dull some pain.

Maria, Simon, Charlie and any others who read this who need help – Keep it up and shoot me an email if ya need some encouragement, you can do it!!!

I promise the next post will have pics!
TTK!

4 comments

Leave a Reply

