If I studied more in skool rather than at the Track….

I could have been a doctor or lawyer!

I must admit, when I attended the University of Arkansas I was famous for befriending those who were from Hot Spring as the chance to get a couch to crash on during racing season was a hot ticket rather than getting a room in a flea ridden hotel! I think it all started when I just turned 16 and we would sneak over to West Memphis to bet the dogs on a limited budget that we got from our parents. When I was in college I learned from some great degenerate gamblers and one of the greatest was the late George Paul as he was truly one of the greatest guys ever to crap between a pair of loafers! George Paul taught me the finer points of horse racing and that you don’t have to bet big on a horse to win money and that those dirty people that you see on the rail that you ‘think’ have the minum bet on a horse because of a name probably make more money than you do in a year.

Anyway we headed out on Friday and caught some afternoon races and crashed at our good friends lake house Randy and Arlene from Duncan MS, and we had a blast with them Friday night. Saturday morning was spent drinking bloody Mary’s, marking the racing programs and formulating our strategies. For the most part I was holding my own and only lost a couple of races when the Glue Factory longshot would come in first while poor Momma Trumpet was down for the day. The final race however was a good one as not only did Momma win, but so did Daddy and even AJ!

Oh and as luck would have it, some friends of ours from Memphis came over on Saturday morning and were horse racing virgins, then the lucky SOB hit the Trifecta in the big race and won 500.00 so drinks were on Will that evening.

They are entering the starting gate
Now that is the way to watch horse racing in the Jockey Club, your own private living room!
Got to love her hat! Lord knows what she will wear on Derby day

Looks like someones shoes were hurting them – This is Arkansas after all!

Aww bless her heart, she is all dressed up and is wobbling on her FM Pumps

You can bet your sweet arse I threw a lot of money on that horse because it was embarrassed his rider was wearing that color silk

Winner Winner Chicken Dinner!

Val and AJ drinking on Will’s tab!

RT and his hat
Will telling me the finer points of horse racing gambling (lucky SOB!)

Self portrait of me and Ms Arlene

Now I won’t say that Will’s girl is young but I wondered if she was on Spring Break from HS

Aww
So in the end it was a good weekend, tune in on Easter Saturday when we head over to the Dog Track and bet the simulcast!
TTK!

4 comments

Leave a Reply

