Ladies stop looking at Shoes and pay attention to CBT!

I have noticed that there seems to be more female blog writers than males for some reason so this one is for you females who write about shoes as men may not know who Milano Blahnik (I had to look it up) is but we do know a thing about grills and outdoor cooking. Being it close to Fathers day I am also taking one for the team and helping my fellow brothers and doing some splaining so they may not receive a tie again this year for fathers day and possibly a new grill.

There are two different types of cooking direct and indirect heat and this needs some splaining as there are a few grills that are not capable of “going both ways” as a smoker is more for just that smoking. Direct heat is just that direct like when grilling a steak or like when you boil water on the stove, you heat one side at a time. Indirect means the heat is not close to what you are wanting to cook and you are using your grill like an oven and this will take a little longer to cook but that is why they sell beer in a 6 pack. Smoking is indirect but you are adding something (normally wood but you can use garlic, fruit, poodle) to the charcoal to infuse a different flavor into what you are cooking. Pork is traditionally bland in taste but when you add pecan wood chips you get a different flavor to the meat. Water smoking is adding a fluid to a pan and as the fluid (Citrus Juice, beer, wine or booze) evaporates it will permeate the meat giving it a distinct flavor.
Personally I like the Big Green Egg as you can use both the direct and indirect method by adding a heat plate and you have the best of both worlds. There are those who swear by their Weber grills, and backyard smokers and that is fine, in my opinion a man can’t have too many grills.
In closing don’t let the jackass at Home Depot try to sell you a propane grill, sure I have one in addition to my Big Green egg, but a man needs to become one with the charcoal and if outside cooking were easy then everyone would be doing it!

Classic Weber Grill and you can use both cooking methods
(stolen from Ruthie )

Grilling down in Belize (check out that shitty view) this is actually an empty propane tank cut into 2 and is the normal down there. As you can see you can cook both direct and indirect here.
Also stolen from Ruthie

A Smaller version of the Belizean Grill
Stolen from Cindy

Cindy decorating the Beer Can Chicken that we served for the Sauce off back in November
Also stolen from Cindy

This is the Backwoods Smoker and are very popular but you can only use the indirect cooking method so you will need something else to grill a steak on

Now here is a Billie Jean King grill that my Black BBQ Brother from another Mother uses up in Minnesota. You see the small box on the right side? That is where Chunky puts the charcoal and the smoke and heat will venture to the left to cook the ribs. You can also put charcoal in the main chamber and grill.
On a side note, you can see that Chunky is a man of my own heart as how many grills do you see on the patio? That’s right ladies, the man with the most toys wins!
Again stolen from Ruthie
Now here we have some serious grills as these pics were taken at BBQ fest, again you can do both methods of cooking. Oh and I would venture to say that this grill is well over a grand but then again why can’t women purchase shoes that are less than 100.00?

Big Grill – Big (male sexual reproductive organ)
This would be a classic smoker and not suitable for direct cooking.

A Red Neck 101 grill but I bet it has years of seasoning inside of her

Did someone say red neck?

This is the remains of my felt gasket on the Big Green Egg.

Who says that 700 degrees is bad for felt adhesive?

What the felt should look like

Had to scrape off the old gasket first.
What I am pointing to is the Terra cotta portion inside of the grill, the outside is ceramic.

After 36 hours of curing, she will be smoking again soon!

Like this! I have a heat plate under the grilling rack so the ribs are not taking a direct heat but an indirect approach. I use rosemary and garlic bulbs (that have been soaked in water) for my smoke method.

Who says that we need cell phones, we can go back to the day of sending smoke signals!

So make your man happy this year for fathers day, go get him a grill!
TTK!

10 comments

  1. That was way more than I ever wanted to know about grills. In my family if I'm working someone will buy some meat for Bob to grill and that's about it. I don't use it. It's his baby and I like it that way.
    Also, really shitty view from bayleeze, glad I never went. Harumph.

    Like

  2. That was way more than I ever wanted to know about grills. In my family if I'm working someone will buy some meat for Bob to grill and that's about it. I don't use it. It's his baby and I like it that way.
    Also, really shitty view from bayleeze, glad I never went. Harumph.

    Like

Leave a Reply

