Betty Carbunkle Trumpet Crocker?

First of all I am having trouble locating my camera so I will have to post this and then I will upload pictures later. I am always amazed by people who come right out and state that they can not cook and everything that they make tastes like $hit and that I am a better cook. I mean I am sorry but cooking from a recipe is simply following the directions, repetition and then experimentation. Normally when someone says they are a crappy cook, I take it as they don’t want/like to cook or they had one of those ‘horrible’ nightmare in the kitchen and refuse to try again.
When I was in my formidable years after college (way prior to the Food network, Emeril or that fat chubby guy who eats bugs) the only time you thought of a man cooking was when he was on the grill and that was about it for males doing the cooking. Well I had the good fortune to work in a bunch of fine dining/French chef run restaurants in the city as a waiter and I can tell you that doing that was way better than any cooking show. The kitchens were male run, full of testosterone and if you think that Gordon Ramsay is too mean then you probably have never been cursed in French while a hot saute pan is heading your way at a high rate of speed! As far as the cooking style it was here that I thought that everyone was supposed to have quart of heavy whipping cream in the fridge, know how to flambe a crepe or decant a bottle of wine that is older than your parents – I guess not! Poor Mrs Trumpet finally broke down and begged me to lay off the bechemle sauce and just cook her a burger, she was sick and tired of heavy sauces and was having trouble fitting into her scrubs for work.
One of my restaurant experiences was with a chef that was a huge fan of using seasonal fruits/veggies and in my opinion could give those “Iron Chef” guys a run for their money. He taught me to ‘think outside the box’ when it comes to cooking, drinking, entertaining, using fresh ingredients and how to roll the perfect joint while standing on the line. He philosophy was that you never knew how something was going to turn out until you try it. He also would write his recipe’s as he went along in that if he added something different he would measure it out and write it down for future recipes.
Ok enough with the past – this weekend we headed to the Farmers Market down at the Central Station and sure enough the Ripley Tomatoes are in and I kind of went crazy and bought a ton of them in addition to peaches and a cantaloupe. When I get home I realize that I would need to do something with the tomato overage because BLT’s are good but I can’t eat them breakfast/lunch/dinner and not have the maters go bad so I put on my Borko hat (and w/o the dope) I did some thinking and idea searching. I come up with the idea of making fresh tomato ketchup as it can be canned, momma would love it and this is something that I have never done before. I do a little web surfing and find 3 recipes that look like would be a good list of ingredients that I like (salt, onions, peppers, brown sugar and GARLIC!) so the blanching of the tomatoes then seeding them and off we go…
I am now in day two of cooking the tomato ketchup as I have to re-warm the ketchup because I ran out of time last night but I will let you know. I also made salsa in the crock pot and I hope that turns out good too as I have burned my damned mouth 3 times trying to taste that stuff!

This could be good or this could really $uck but you never know till you try it!

TTK!

6 comments

  1. I respect anyone who can cook! Whether it's something gourmet, or just a burger and fries.

    You are exactly right – I tend to say that I'm a terrible cook, when the truth is – I just don't care. I have no interest in cooking. I can read, I'm sure if I tried, I could make something edible. It's just the “trying” part that gets to me. 🙂

    Like

  2. I respect anyone who can cook! Whether it's something gourmet, or just a burger and fries.

    You are exactly right – I tend to say that I'm a terrible cook, when the truth is – I just don't care. I have no interest in cooking. I can read, I'm sure if I tried, I could make something edible. It's just the “trying” part that gets to me. 🙂

    Like

  3. I go thru phases where I cook quite often. I don't mind doing it, but I have to be in the mood. It doesn't come 2nd nature to me like some people.
    Ketchup makes me want to vomit but I'd love to try your salsa! Maybe at the end of the month.

    ps- not sure where we're staying yet…I'll keep ya posted

    Like

  4. I go thru phases where I cook quite often. I don't mind doing it, but I have to be in the mood. It doesn't come 2nd nature to me like some people.
    Ketchup makes me want to vomit but I'd love to try your salsa! Maybe at the end of the month.

    ps- not sure where we're staying yet…I'll keep ya posted

    Like

Leave a Reply

