Can you see the signs?

Now apologies to my fellow crime fighter Michelle as I am kinda infringing on her blog premise of neat pictures in downtown but I have always wanted to do a post that is just South Main stuff. Way back in the mid 90’s the movie “The People vs Larry Flynt” was filmed in a lot of downtown locations and we befriended the Art Director (before he stole a good friend of ours and took him to California and ex-communicated him from us) and he told me that he loved Memphis’ downtown because of all of the hand painted signs on the old buildings. The Art department used a lot of these signs as back drops to mimic Cincinnati and other cities and even had one commissioned on a building on Front Street where the ‘hustler’ club was to be filmed. Later it was painted over and I still don’t know why they did that, it was kind of cool.

I think it was this past fall while I was drinking a diet coke at my favorite sports bar down in South Main when it hit me about the number of hand painted billboards/signs are in a 15 block radius of South Main. Today between rain showers I took a walk and shot up some of South Main and for my 2 readers feel free to figure out where these are as unless someone touches them up they will fade away.

As a bonus can anyone tell me what was the billboard sign painted on the old South End/former Blue Monkey/now South Main swimming hole?

Madam Boss of Harrah’s NOLA this first one is for you.
It is a hand painted dirt median in South Bluffs!

Guess the “welcome to the lofts” kinda gives that away eh?

Yep I may need to go back to being satirical you know since I gave this one away too.

Yep this is America but you better watch out with using the word Dixie

Almost gone

Wonder where this is?

Oh well keep trying to find this…

Now I know that Graffiti is bad but you got to love the artist’s colors.

I think it is a Pepsi sign

Loflin Safe and Lock Co. Wonder where that is?

Someones got the upper hand

I think that UWT had places all over South Main, I saw a dozen signs today

You better pick this location pretty fast

Again here today…

Where were you before the market went into the crapper?

This one isn’t that easy to find

Hard to read this one

If you ride around with your eyes closed you can find this one

Can’t make the company out but apparently they sold rubbers (snicker)

Remember when they were supposed to be where Pat O’s was going to be going?

Good luck on that one

Better not blink for this one

Bulldog is looking over us

Not saying but if you walked out of SOB you may find this one

Barely there

Never find this one, I promise!

Bricks are winning over the paint in this case

Pay no attention the logo in the bottom right corner for where this sign is located

Give you a hint we eat a burger made of ‘Soul’ here.
I am guessing below the windows was a sign.

I know it isn’t a sign but I know two little red head twins who will recognize this location.

10 minutes after I took this pic it rained cats and dogs on me
I hope they aren’t saying to pee there

I guess the Godfather of Soul wrote this sign.

Wonder where this is?

Again I know that everyone has walked by this one
Keep in light.
TTQ!

6 comments

  1. I think you took most of these pictures while you were standing in what used to be my parking lot. Or perhaps while you were “patio-ing” at the Happy Mexican. I really would like to get into the industrial rubbers industry. Wonder who's demanding this product??

    Like

  2. I think you took most of these pictures while you were standing in what used to be my parking lot. Or perhaps while you were “patio-ing” at the Happy Mexican. I really would like to get into the industrial rubbers industry. Wonder who's demanding this product??

    Like

Leave a Reply

