Flat Chunky does MIM World Championship BBQ!

I have blogged a couple times about my good friends Chunky and Ruth who live half of the time in MN and winter in Belize to escape the harsh winters (tough life you know). Chunky is the resident BBQ guru of the island and not a shabby BBQ sauce maker and both he and Ruth are good people and great friends. Anyway this year due to a scheduling snafu Chunky and Ruth couldn’t make it down to Belize this past winter and after seeing some of their pics of grilling in the snow I knew that brother Chunky would be jonesing for some smoked pork love.
Traditionally the first or second week of May is when they head back to MN and that also coincides with Memphis in May World Championship BBQ Contest that brings in 250+ of the best teams from across the world. We have invited them down but scheduling always prevents them from experiencing smoked hickory nirvana.
This year after that whole Flat CBT trip_to_Belize experiment I got an idea and shot Ruthie an email saying that Flat Chunky needs to come to WCBBC as an honored guest. In between Chunky’s naps she secretly made a Flat Chunky, slapped some stamps on his head and “BOOM” Chunky arrived at Bar 595!
Below is the photo journey that my fellow BBQ brother from another mother had in an out of the many teams!
Oh and Chunky next year we will get you down here or maybe we can have a rib cooking contest at Coral Villas this winter….

Before he headed down to the park he wanted to brown some meat for a Gravy
Even Momma wanted to get in on the action

Ok, I am a BBQ guru not a jockey!
Get my arse down to the park CBT!

Credentialed up and ready to go!

250 teams and only 4 days…Where do I start?

Why of course I need an official MIM fly golf cart ride to maximize my experience!

Hadn’t been here an hour and Chunky won Best Mustard Sauce
(BTW who won that San Pedro People’s Choice award again?)

After he poured some Lighter fluid on the charcoal now it is time to start prepping some meat
(Photo credit to the team of Tom and Jerry’s Global Smokers)
You think 30 racks is enough for Friday?
You are right let’s get 60 on the smoker
(photo credit to the team of Pork U)
Yep the PETA people will be complaining very soon
Notice I didn’t do anything vulgar to Chunky like some did to Flat CBT down in Belize..
(Photo credit to Wasted and Basted BBQ Team)
Chunky chilling and exchanging pork tips with the Danish National BBQ team
Yes they were Danish and didn’t speak much English either

Even Pedro would be proud of this photo
(Can’t recall which team provided this back drop, I think that pretty every team had one of these things in their tent though)

BBQ Nachos – Why yes I will have some

Screw the diet, give me a hunk of that Funnel cake too!

Tried some of the Hot Wing entries and man they were good

CBT & Chunky with the Cattlemen’s girls
Chunky getting ready to fire up the smoker for the judges
(Photo credit to Squeal Street Patio Porker team)

Brother Mike King and Chunky kicking it in the tent

Man doesn’t live on pork alone, give me some of that please!

Why yes I will have an ice cold beer to wash it down!

Sadly they didn’t have a San Pedro or Maplewood MN sign

Chunky checking the temp on the Back woods smoker
(Photo credit to Brown Chicken Brown Cow BBQ team)

Head pit masters Mike Rude and Cliff Wilson swapping recipes with Chunky

Even Ms Miller wanted some Chunky love!

Damn Chunky won 1st place in Ribs!

And Whole Hog too? I bet that Myron is going to be whining in his beer saying the contest is fixed!
TTK!
14 comments

  1. Holy Moly…did Flat Chunky have a good time in Memphis or what! Thanks so much for all the great hospitality.

    Of course, now his brother, “Fat” Chunky, is bound and determined to see this badboy BBQ festival for himself.

    Like

  2. Holy Moly…did Flat Chunky have a good time in Memphis or what! Thanks so much for all the great hospitality.

    Of course, now his brother, “Fat” Chunky, is bound and determined to see this badboy BBQ festival for himself.

    Like

  3. Good job the Belizean ambush BBQ gang didn't just show up. This whole post has put a giant grin on my face but I have to say I nearly fainted when I saw the words “lighter fluid”. There is no way chunky would use that!

    Like

  4. Good job the Belizean ambush BBQ gang didn't just show up. This whole post has put a giant grin on my face but I have to say I nearly fainted when I saw the words “lighter fluid”. There is no way chunky would use that!

    Like

Leave a Reply

