Paddle Faster I hear Banjos!

So a couple of weeks ago Mrs CBT asks me if I wanted to go on a float trip with some of her high school buddies. I didn’t have anything on the books so I said sure why not. Now Mrs CBT is not from around these parts as she lived in Sikeston, MO and was in the high school band. Being that my parents wanted to ensure my place in hell they sent me to an all boys high school and back in the day either you took physical education or band so I was not privy to sheet music or playing with my instrument. Anyway another all boys high school alum and I always make snide comments about band camp to Mrs CBT and his wife as well so I was looking forward to this trip and meeting her fellow band geeks.
Well it was that we were on the way up to Band Country that I found out that I was going to be the only male as it was a girls trip and other than Mrs CBT’s younger brother this trip was resembling Father Goose and his band geeks. Anyway on the trip up to the hotel one of our car mates had a bladder the size of a kidney bean and needed to pee. We pull up to a Purty gas/liquor/BBQ shop near Dexter and as the girls were peeing I was perusing the liquor selection as I may need additional booze to dull the pain. They had a shelf that read “All bottles on this shelf $2.00” and it had about 7 bottles of good white wine. I inquired if there was something wrong with the wine and a Joe Dirt hairstyle clerk informed me that they just wanted to get rid of it. After I asked her (or was it a he?) for a box I said I would take it off their hands and away we went. We arrived at the hotel and had a good time, the Current River is a great relaxed float and a lot of families go so there isn’t so much of a “Hey Man Play Freebird” factor. The band geeks were fun and it was a good weekend.

The store that pretty much had it all except for live bait
My sweet arse steal

You maybe able to take the carnie out of the carnival..

That’s how I roll!
Oh and ABD notice that I didn’t take any pics of food or something Gay like that!!!

Here is Kathy (she is matching I might add)

The Horns section of Sikeston HS Band

Girls you get my shit ready as I will be right down!

Hurry up to wait

Here we have first and second chair for the cowbell

Pipe down you weren’t even born yet when these girls were marching

Clarinet player

Flag girl

Here is the Drum majorette in all her glory

Looks like we are about to start marching (or drinking)

Sorry but when I was in the 3rd grade my band teacher told me to ‘fake play’ during our recital! Yep that bad!
If she took PE rather than band then she would know how to swim.

My kind of floating (beer in one hand, camera in the other and a cigar in my mouth)

Here the first Tuba player is telling me that I should be careful that I don’t drop my camera in the lake and then………
All in all it was a good time and yes Father Goose will be back next year and I am going to bring me some bongos too!
TTK!
2 comments

  1. What a neat write-up and fun pictures Sounds like a good time. I'm not sure what it is with these Missouri people and floating your butt down a river, but all my relatives do it, too. Just a little too close to wildlife for me. Anyone got a canoe?

    Like

  2. What a neat write-up and fun pictures Sounds like a good time. I'm not sure what it is with these Missouri people and floating your butt down a river, but all my relatives do it, too. Just a little too close to wildlife for me. Anyone got a canoe?

    Like

Leave a Reply

