Marathon Prep for the TCS New York Marathon

Before we moved up here we were informed by our friend ML that we would be hosting the Marathon Party since we live on the Marathon route. A week before the marathon and I hear the doormen talking about how much of a pain in the ass it is living on the route. I was informed that once the joggers go by there is absolutely ZERO crossing the street to get to the west side of First Avenue. What does that mean to us? No Iggy’s for Sunday Funday or mass at St. Peters so I decided that I would try to drink ALL of the Bud Light in Manhattan on Marathon eve. Security is paramount during the Marathon so about 2 days prior to the race I noticed all of the trash cans went missing. Next was the mail boxes as they installed locks on the boxes. It wasn’t until the wee hours of the night that the bike rack went up and on race morning the police present was huge.

IMG_9429Yeah, Yeah, Yeah I get it that they are going to have a marathon on Sunday. At least I don’t have to go get my neighbor’s Christmas tree today.

nyc_map_1_0On Marathon Day we don’t live on First Avenue between 71st and 72nd, we live between mile 16 & 17

IMG_9435But where are we going to put the bag of poop from the Monkey Heads?

IMG_9434Kind of a pain in the ass if you have to mail a letter or mail a check

IMG_9436Bike Rack for miles

IMG_9438I asked what time the Sweep Bus would be coming by and they told me that the course closes at 7:30PM

IMG_9440Kinda cool to hear the crowd going crazy outside as they run by our building

IMG_9442

I am way too hungover to be going down there right now, I will go down after lunch to see the fat old white guys run by

As my friend Dick would say “Bunch of over achievers out there!”

Leave a Reply

