Start Spreading The News!

Well, I am back! I  survived the intensive training for Tourist Bus Tour ticket sellers and I am ready to go. *editor’s note – No that is not my true profession, I do have gainful employment but I choose to keep some shit private. If it bothers you that much then “Bless your heart!”* The training was good and I met some of my fellow tour bus ticket sellers and we compared notes. The training was in my old home town so it was kind of strange being back in town but because this was a ‘work’ trip and I couldn’t act a damn fool like some of my cohorts did. I was able to get out a tad on the weekend and it was good seeing some old friends. I am still disappointed that my favorite bat wielding bartender wouldn’t put the Rangers game on for me when the Tigers and the Grizzlies were playing on Saturday night, but I digress.
While we were nearing the end of the training one of my classmates asked me if I was ready to get back to the island called Manhattan. I looked at him and with a struggled look on my face I said that sadly I was, and I kind of felt bad about it. He said that he understood what I was referring to as he is originally from Vietnam but calls Southern California home. My cohort went back to the motherland at Christmas and said that he also enjoyed his visit but he was ready to be back on the Left Coast. Below are some of the things that I was missing from the city so famous they named it twice.

  • The fast and hurried pace on the streets, talk about some slow walkers in M-Town – Got Dayem!
  • The foul smells from the subway – did he really just say that? Who is this fecker and what did he do to our friend Carbunkle.
  • The constant beeping of car horns while driving down the road. I do apologize to that carload of nuns who I cut off and told that they were Number 1 on Central.
  • The Traffic – I got caught up in 240/Poplar at rush hour traffic the other day, it reminded me of home.
  • The different accents and dialects that you hear from people speaking on the streets. Sorry but Ebonics doesn’t count.
  • My beer drinking buddy, Mrs. Trumpet. She informed me that she felt like a single mom taking care of the monkey heads for 2 weeks.
  • My 535 Square foot apartment. I think the bathroom at my hotel was bigger than my kitchen, bathroom and closet.
  • Not having a car – It was rather strange having a car again and I noticed that I fell into that old habit of “Oh I can just whip over there to get this/that.”

 IMG_0277Had to walk 8 blocks in the friggin snow for that woman. And did I even get to see her? Hell NO! Don’ worry Rhonda, I will make sure that I get you some fresh ones. I still can’t believe that your ‘partner’ wouldn’t save you one.

IMG_0305That is a damned good bagel

IMG_0291Always a pleasure to see my Bethlehem Buddy and the woman who introduced me to kcoffee cups

IMG_0287What you didn’t expect me not to get some of this crack? I heard that Andrew Zimmern did a show on Pancho’s cheese dip.

So don’t worry folks, I will be back to normal scheduling soon and I am glad to be back home.

Leave a Reply

