What Part of Texas You From Kid?

I saw this article on the Book of Face about struggles of having a Southern Accent here in the North. Talk about a kick right in the baby maker, that thing was spot on! While I am reading the list I couldn’t help but laugh because almost daily I get asked “What part of Texas you from Kid?” It is funny because I have listened to recordings of myself and declared “I don’t have an accent, you New Yorker’s are just fecking with me!” Please don’t get me wrong, I am not busting chops here, I realize that my accent how subtle or not is a tad different. Add to that with over 200 nationalities living here in New York, I find it humorous when I get called out by someone who don’t speak English as their first language.  Living here some almost 8 months I “think” I may have found that there are 5 different style of accents here in Gotham.

  • The ‘Heavy’ Long Island Accent – IMHO this accent can be confused with a Boston accent as they roll their R’s and talk very ‘nasally’.
  • The English as a Second Language Accent – Walk into any bar in the Upper East Side and you may think that you are in Ireland. These accents are pretty easy to spot and I do take great humor when they ask me what part of Texas I hail from. I always tell them “I am from South Dublin!”
  • The Neutral Accent – These are the non-accents and I have found that 75% of the people living here speak. They can blend into pretty much any corner of the US and go unnoticed.
  • The “Well Bless Your Heart” accent – This would be me. Now I don’t consider my accent to be  like Tom Hanks’ from “Forrest Gump” or even Kevin Spacey sounding from “Midnight of the Garden of Good and Evil” heavy but somewhere a tad lighter. *Quit Laughing – Asian Fireman, Murphranks, Maria, Peppers in the Washing Machine, LZ, or Baby in Longbeach*
  • The “What Did You Just Say” Northern Accent – This category is where a lot of New Yorkers fall into. “Hey Carbunkle, you want to go for a cup of Cawfee?” Here they change the “o” to “aw” and say How-ston street.

635933134278511404810627197_ACCENT%2024

 

8 Struggles Of Having A Southern Accent

The struggle is real, y’all.

Emmie Meadows in Humor on Mar 14, 2016

Recently, I was at work, and I was talking to a customer when he said, “I love your accent. It’s going to take you places.” Taken aback, I thanked him, and he went on to say that people “underestimate” people with Southern accents. At this point, I was seriously blushing, and it made me start thinking about some rather unfortunate (but humorous) things that are daily realities for those of us with Southern accents

  1. It is a genuine surprise when you find out you have an accent.

Until I went off to college, I never knew I had an accent; I’ve always thought I just talked like everyone else. Talk about a reality check.

  1. People don’t always understand your name.

Okay, maybe this is just a personal thing, but my name is Emmie. I have, in my opinion, a pretty simple name, but people think I’m saying Amy, Evie, Ivy or (my personal favorite) Eeeeeemmie. This makes introducing myself on the first day of class mortifying.

  1. “I didn’t expect you to talk like that!”

Apparently, I don’t look like I would have a strong Southern accent. I’m not really sure what this means, and I have yet to figure out whether this is meant as a good or bad thing.

  1. People ask you to talk.

“Emmie, say something so they can hear your accent!” This has happened on numerous occasions, but it still catches me off guard. What can I say that would sufficiently showcase my accent?

  1. Everyone will ask you the legendary question… “WHERE ARE YOU FROM?”

I want to reply that I’m from heaven on earth, but if I’m in a different state, I say I’m from Georgia. If I’m in Georgia, I say Cochran. People typically think I’m Honey Boo Boo’s neighbor or from another world. It’s usually one or the other

  1. Siri has a difficult time understanding you.

Talking to Siri is literally one of the most painful things I have to do. If actual people can’t understand what I’m saying, a machine definitely has no chance either.

  1. Some question your intelligence.

This is common and pretty self-explanatory, There is a pretty nasty idea that a Southern accent is indicative of low intelligence. It’s frustrating to say the least, particularly when the South hails big thinkers such as William Faulkner, Harper Lee, Martin Luther King, Jr and Flannery O’Conner

Did you notice that there are only 7 items listed yet the title says 8

One comment

Leave a Reply

