St. Sava Serbian Orthodox Church Fire

Last week my boss and I were doing joint calls one day. For those wondering my territory is from 26th street to Wall Street so I have some major real estate to cover. Unlike some of my other work comrades who may just have a street or even a building to cover I have to really pay attention to the distance between appointments or I could be running my ass off. We go about our calls and find ourselves in the Flatiron district and are walking on E25th street. The thing about walking with someone is that you find you don’t pay much attention to your surroundings and can miss stuff. We come up to another construction zone (one on every block) and there is where I see the remains of St Sava Church.

I was out of town on business when the fire alert came over my phone about the church fire. Because of my friendships with numerous NYFD boys I follow a couple of NYFD social media pages. I glance at them and see the footage of the flames blowing out of the windows and figured it was a complete loss. Imagine my suprise when I see that other than the roof the entire structure is still standing. We all remember the feeling of heartbreak when the south wall of the Blue Monkey came tumbling down thanks to the Pucci Ban, why didn’t this sucker fall like that? My boss informed me “they build shit well up here!” What also amazed me was that there were no other businesses affected when that sucker went up. One would expect heat damage from the flames but the other buildings around the church appeared fine.  According to a couple New Yorkers there is a big difference between New Consruction and Renovations. Because they were able to save the walls this job will be considered renovations even though there is not shit inside the 4 walls. I was also told that the first day following the clean up the church officials rehung the American and Serbian Orthodox flags at the front door saying “we will be back.”  I look forward to visiting this church when they reopen.

Fire 2Nipped this off the internet the fire was on the 2nd of May

IMG_4352This was taken this past week. Still standing!

IMG_1282Still inspecting the building.

IMG_1283I imagine the amount of rubble that still has to be cleaned.

Thank God that nobody was killed.

 

 

Leave a Reply

