Carbunkle Trumpet & Mrs. Trumpet go to see “The Neighbor” & A squared in AC

We are dumbasses. Now pipe down Big Al, nobody is jerking your chain. We have lived here almost 1 full year and we finally went to the beach. I mean we are an hour away via subway and our first trip to see the ocean was almost 1 year after moving up here, that’s pretty poor if you ask me. One of our favorite beer slingers at Baker Street takes the A out to Rockaway Beach every weekend. She was telling us how easy it is and yet when haven’t made it out there to check it out. Our friend Baby lives on Long Beach and has a condo overlooking the beach and we haven’t even ‘told’ her that we were coming for a visit. So yes, we are dumbasses.

You guys remember The Damn Neighbor when we visited her back in December? We were able to figure out our schedules and decided on reuniting this past weekend. Rather than head back to New York on Sunday, we stayed over to enjoy Sunday-Funday with her & her husband and then headed back to NYC early Monday morning. We arrived on Friday evening and got to see The Neighbor, A squared, our Vegas friend KJ and my main man crush J while rubbing elbows with Guy Fieri who was in town for his Chop House at Bally’s.

Fast forwarding to Sunday, after some retail therapy at Brooks Brothers (S/O to Ba, JD, CD & J-Bob for the gift cards) we headed over to the Nanny’s house on 21st street in Longport. We visit with Nanny, pack the coolers with some beer cold drinks and load up our Tommy Bahama beach chairs and umbrella and then head to the beach. It has been a while since I was slung up in a beach chair with my ass in the sand and toes in the water. Granted we did that in Mexico this past June but that was different. With having to load up your own gear and schelping it to the beach you work up a different thirst compared to walking to a lounger and having Habib fetch you beers all day.

Now here is where hanging on Longport’s beach kicks ass – After a couple of beers and half of my cigar the neighbor & A squared’s nephews bring us our sandwiches for lunch. You know how great it was to eat a Philly cheesesteak on the beach? You can’t get that kind of service on the beaches of Destin I tell you. Here is a news flash for my 6 readers; I have been known to drink a couple of ice cold beers. I know that it is a shock for some of you but here is something that I have learned over the years. There are 3 certain places that beer just simply tastes better. One is on a hot summer day as you are riding up to the 18th green and you are laying 2 on a par 5 hole. The next is when you walk into your favorite 1st Avenue bar after baking in the sun all damn day wearing a suit that most certainly will end up going to the dry cleaners. The last would be as you sit on the beach on a Sunday shooting the shit with good friends  in Longport New Jersey. Seriously, I forget how much I love just sitting by the water with a cold drink in my hand and not a care in the world. We should have been doing this all along!  A Good Times were had by all and next time we will be back! Thank you Neighbor and A squared.

IMG_1857This does not suck at all! Next time I am making my minions carry my stuff for me. We ‘had’ to empty that cooler before we walked back home I tell you. Thank God A squared was there to help me!

IMG_1852I made the Stock Girl’s day when she was the only one who would help me because the other sales reps were too busy. She rang up 2 suits, 6 dress shirts, 3 ties, 4 pairs of socks and a pair of cufflinks. That will teach the sales reps to never underestimate the hungover Southerner who wants to know where the 46 regular suit jackets are located.

12472491_10154589531004928_5349011178104153423_nSo if I am taking the picture where is “The Neighbor”? #pooping #roboisintrouble

Thank you to the Allison’s for the hospitality and to Nanny who let me slide down the slide a couple dozen times at her pool. We shall be back!

 

 

 

2 comments

  1. Hahaha!!!! We had fun too! Big al was just mad he wasn’t with us.
    Did you notice J was radio silent the rest of the weekend?

    Like

Leave a Reply

