Welcome to Woodlawn – 1 year anniversary!

We made it! Albeit this Friday 8/5/16 will be one full year of living in Manhattan we can consider our first night at the Asian Fireman residence on 8/4/15 in the Bronx as close enough.   Regardless, we made it! One year in a day of living on this rock called Manhattan and we didn’t get squashed by a crosstown bus! For those of you who took the under…. GFY baby because we made it! By my estimation we probably have 90% of the Upper East Side speaking Southern and soon we take on Midtown East, Murray Hill and Gramercy next. This will be a 2-part series because I don’t want to make this too long of a blog entry. I do realize that 2 of my 6 readers don’t like it when I get longwinded with the run-on-sentences. Anyway in one year we have done a lot of stuff. Allow me to recap if I can.
I am going to break this down into 8 subtopics. They are in no particular order;

  • Shit we found out on our own from living here in Manhattan
  • Shit we found pretty difficult to do here as compared to living in Memphis
  • Great experiences/cool shit we saw this year
  • Food we ate this year (Sorry AT, you may want to skip over this one
  • Famous people we saw
  • Great Friends we made/rekindled
  • Recommendations for visitors to NYC that is not on a top 10 “must-do” list
  • Stuff we still have yet to do and or see or eat (again skip this one A.T.)

Shit we found out on our own from living here in Manhattan –

  • Man this was an eye opener. Number one on the list was using the grocery, booze, and amazon delivery service to our building. This is a lifesaver if you ask me.
  • Those stupid plastic bumpers that New Yorkers put on the rear bumper of their cars.
  • That New Yorkers aren’t as mean as the stereotype that is painted of them.
  • Those Steam Vent’s and Nitrogen tanks on the streets are for fiber optics.

Great Experiences/Cool Shit we saw this year (Even my boss said we did more than most New Yorkers)

Unbelievable Restaurants and Foodie Mecca’s that we ate at this past year. (Shout out to Murphranks, Homeless Tim, and MC for the invitation into the club)

  • This is where A.T. is going to start cursing me. But let us go big balls and start with a French Seafood joint named Le Bernardin
  • To make the LVD happy I have to mention a certain meat in tube form joint in the UES called Papaya King.
  • When I was slinging bags for the man, I grabbed some lunch at a Puerto Rican joint at 125th Street that still to this day makes my mouth water. I need to get back up there.
  • During the Christmas season we put veils over our heads so that the man upstairs could not see our faces because we dined on fancy butter and had great company too!
  • We also dined at Red Rooster in Harlem not once but 3 times, ate over in Brooklyn at a steak joint called Peter Lugar and celebrated our 19th anniversary at another steak joint downtown called Delmonico.
  • To finish out the fancy meals we made a trip to Tarrytown to eat a bunch of veggies, drink some wine, but most of all have great company at Blue Hill

Great Friends we have met/relationships rekindled

  • I would be remiss if I didn’t open that with our move to NYC we got the Three Musketeers back together. The Musketeers would be Mrs. CBT, Myself and our NYC Consigliore Maria. If you read this worthless dribble you notice that I use funny nicknames or initials when I refer to people other than the two of us. I do it for a number of reasons in that I try to protect the innocent but that it may detract from the story. Maria on the other hand, she gets full billing.  Anyway one thing that we both were excited about in this move that we would get to spend more time with her. Oh and once we get some stuff handled, look out Belize!  If you forgot how we know Maria and some of the others that I mention by names here is a post to catch up.
  • We got to see some old friends and got to meet some new ones over in Long Island this past July.
  • Mrs. Trumpet joined a wine club that I am not sure if there is much discussion of wine going on but she likes it. We need to start a Cigar and Good Booze club on the nights that the ladies get together.
  • I will close with this famous saying. They say that you can measure a person’s wealth by the number of good friends that they have. If that is the case then Mrs. Trumpet and myself are some Rich Mudda Feckers.

See you on Friday!

 

 

Leave a Reply

