The Best Burger in New York City!

You recall the first paragraph from my last ENTRY? If you didn’t read it, go ahead and click the link and catch up. Anyway, what I failed to mention was that LZ invited me to go have burgers with her and FZ. I appreciated the offer but had to decline because I still had to get the Christmas Tree and smoke a cigar. The words LZ told me was something along the lines of “Best Burger in New York.” Now I have heard the term ‘Best’ many times up here and am always skeptical because it is very opinionated. Seriously you ever want to start a  fight up here, ask the question “So who has the best pastrami sandwich or bagel up here?” it is always good for hours of entertainment.

This past Friday was the Girl’s Wine Club where the ladies drink like it was their job sip wine and compare tasting notes on a predetermined region or grape varietal. Normally during wine club the guys are forced to fend for themselves or as I normally do, smoke a good cigar catch up on my community service. Anyway this particular Friday I had made plans to have a cigar with FZ and probably have a couple drinks for good measure. We decided upon the Carnegie Club on W56th street where we ‘sampled’ some bourbon and scotch and may have overpaid for a couple cigars. They had a  3pc band who played some great Blues and Jazz while we cursed the jackasses who left the door open.  *Oh and if you think that we just traded dirty jokes I will have you know that we solved a lot of problems and planned a great trip to the Crossroads in the fall* So take that Mrs. Trumpet and LZ!

We finished up our cigars and rather get black lung and smoke another cigar we decided to head out into the cold. It was mentioned again to me but this time from FZ. “You want to grab a really great burger? It isn’t too far from here.” Considering that I had last eaten some 12 hours ago, I was hungry and agreed on getting a burger and beer. We then ventured to XXXXXXXX XXXXXXXXXX (name of joint withheld so that the Hipsters don’t show up) and stood online for about 30 minutes. When we entered I immediately recognized something familiar. FZ had brought me to the Alex’s Tavern/Ernestine & Hazels of New York City! I immediately asked FZ if the menu was burgers and potato chips but was pleasantly surprised when I found out that we can have French fries.

Cutting to the chase – Yes I got a friggin Double Double. Of course it was with Cheese, naturally it was Medium Rare, it had the Works on it, I added Bacon, and you can bet your sweet ass I had fries and a Beer with it too! So the price was above twenty five dollars, to sit in a joint that reminded you of sitting in a booth at Alex’s Tavern but it was well worth it! While FZ and I were devouring our burgers with grease dripping down our arms I looked up and recognized an old Sony 19inch color TV that reminded me of sitting in Robert Junior’s section at the Rendezvous. Seriously, I had a religious moment in this joint. As far as the burger……..You saw the tweet I sent to RJ and FT.

On to the pictures….. Oh and thank you Fred for a great evening. Cigars, John Dewars White Label and New York’s version of Rock Mo’s/Soul Burgers is always a great night!

img_2684Got to love a guy who wails on a stand up Bass

burgerI am probably Fecking my newly found joint by posting this picture but here is the only way that people know where to go for these burgers.

menu“We ain’t got no Menu”
The late Sonny Wilson formally of Alex’s Tavern

tvYes that TV doesn’t have a ‘flat screen’ on it. God help the person sitting under it should it ever fall.

imagesn72u7g3cIf this doesn’t make you sexually aroused then you need to quit reading this blog you Vegetarian!
BTW – The Translation of Vegetarian means “can’t hunt or fish”

And for those coming into town this weekend, no I won’t tell you where this is. I have lived here a year and 4 months and just found this gem of NYC.

Leave a Reply

