“You mean to tell me that you don’t have sweet tea” sponsored by Lipitor

Hope everyone had a great weekend. We sure as shit did and thankfully my dress pants still fit me as I slipped them on this morning. I am starting to get some hate mail as of late because of our Gastronomic Dining Experiences. This past weekend we checked another one off the list by dining at “The House” as it is known to the food snobs. For those of you wondering, we dined at the James Beard House.

The James Beard House and James Beard Awards are considered the Oscars for the young inspiring chefs. Granted there are a couple of different opinions on the house and the ‘visiting chefs’. I am not going to get into that but bottom line you do raise some money for a charity so at least you can feel somewhat good about yourself as you get stewed drunk in Chelsea. It has always been on my list so when LZ texted me asking if we wanted to go, we were on board. Naturally this was so far in advance I don’t think they had the schedule out so it was a crap shoot. I did inquire after we plunked down the cash for the tickets and was told that it was called “Art Meets Food Meets Sherry.” My first thought was “Oh Fuck, LZ has gotten me roped into one of those put on your bowtie but order a pizza afterwards because you are going to be hungry meals.” I did rock a bowtie and the food was substantial and I was getting excited to try what Chris Curren from Fulton Market Kitchen in Chicago had to offer. The menu was paired with Spanish Sherry from Antonio Flores and even though I am not a big fan of Sherry, it was a great pairing.

Now I have known some great friends and chefs who have cooked in the Beard House so we were excited to try this and see what it was all about. The house, yep it is really his house, is still preserved as it was when James Beard was alive. You dine on the second floor and although it is a little tight it really is a great evening. The staff is on point and busily plates and busses the silverware with ease and no interruptions. Granted you are getting crocked on high alcohol sherry but hey, why not have a little fun on a Friday night. Ok enough words, lets get down to the menu and some food pics (Ha right!)

Passed Appetizers included;

  • Oyster Shooters with Chowder emulsion and Tabasco
  • Foie Gras PB&J with Fois Gras Mousse and Strawberry-Rosemary Jam (that one of our guests could not taste the rosemary) *I could eat this for days*
  • Smoked Trout Brandade Cromesquis with Caper Aioli
  • Lamb Tartare with Egg Yolk Jam on Grilled Sourdough
  • And Naturally Tio Pepe Cocktails

Dinner Service Started with;

  • Glazed Nichols Farm & Orchard Carrot with Honey-Whipped Goat Cheese and Smoked Pistachios
  • Squid Ink Corzetti Pasta with Baby Octopus, Pickled Pearl Onions and Bone Marrow Emulsion (My favorite)
  • Sturgeon with Smoked Celeriac Puree, Dill, and Salmon Roe (Least Favorite)
  • Venison with Pickled Wild Mushrooms, Salt Roasted Root Vegetables, Blackberries and Juniper. (melted in your mouth good)
  • Apple Cake with Salted Caramel, Pecans and Pine Ice Cream
  • Ph’s Birthday Cake!!!

Oh and there was a different Sherry Pairing with each course. Or as one of the guests at our table told us; “Be careful, they give you full portions of wine but half portions of food. If you don’t watch out you may have a hangover tomorrow…….” #bitchplease #whydoyouthinkIwork

02-17-curren-chris%20resizedChef Chris Curren of Fulton Market Kitchen in Chicago. Don’t mind the tats, the man puts out some good plates. Hey Buckley – Put this one on your list, it is good!

img_0355Here is my picture of my place setting after the first course. *CBT is not a big fan of pictures of food. Except if it is bacon, then I will always put up pictures of bacon*

img_0356This is what I like about the Beard House. The back of house staff eats the same meal that we do in-between courses. You have no idea how many times back when I was putting on the black waiter pants that I would sneak food from the line.

img_0360Every once in a while you have to put on a bowtie and go eat a fancy meal. Friday night was that night.

Again, thanks to LZ for the invite and Happy Birthday FZ. Next cigar is on me!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

