World Famous Food Carts – Halal Guys on 6th Ave and 53rd Street

I have been slacking as of late and I apologize. You would think that all I ever do up here is eat fancy food and smoke expensive cigars. Sure I do that but not all of my meals are from 3 star Michelin restaurants. I mean some even come from food trucks. Now there are those who think that Food Trucks and Food Carts are disgusting and you risk getting food poisoning if you eat from them. Personally I don’t think that anyone serving food from a food cart would want to kill off their paying guests.

Back when we were in Mexico last summer. You know the trip I am talking about, it was the one that RJ knocked up Mallory. During the trip RJ and I were walking down the street and found a line of people at a food cart. I naturally get on line and RJ looks at me like I am crazy. I tell him that the universal sign of a good food cart is a long ass line. As far as the meal I ate in Mexico, it was damn good and pretty cheap. (Shout Out to my Boy RJ on the anniversary of him circling the sun. Lot of good shit has happened in 4 years since he turned 40.)

If you are ever on 6th Avenue at 53rd street you will find a similar line pretty much every damn day and at all hours of the day and night. This line that you wonder about? None other than The World Famous Halal Guys. The story goes that back in 1990 the majority of the cab drivers were Muslim and they were always looking for Halal Food Meat and Rice dishes. Traditionally the only carts in New York were Dirty Dishwater Dogs but 3 guys; Mohammed Abouelenein, Abdelbaset Elsayed and Ahmed Elsaka (yes I looked this shit up from the website) started cooking on the first halal meat food truck at 53rd and 6th Ave. Basically it was the first drive thru since the cars would pull up by the Hilton to get a taxi.  Demand was great and naturally this menu became a very popular late night drunk food (I have no idea what you are talking about) and next thing they knew Boom, the Halal Guy’s Food Mania was born.

Now while I was getting some backstory on this they actually have franchise rites so I will make a deal with someone in Memphis. If you talk to someone who would open up a Gus’ Fried Chicken Franchise up here I will help get 38103 a Halal Guys Food Truck. As far as the food from the cart. It is damn good. Even if you are stone cold sober on a Monday at lunch.

IMG_1163The line was relatively light on the day that I visited it this past Monday.

thg_foundersThe Founders and Owners

IMG_1164So good and only 8 bucks for a platter like this but a word to the wise – Go Easy on the Hot Sauce. It is burn your ass hot!

258sBeware guys, this isn’t your normal Hot Sauce. The White Sauce is pretty good too!

Have a good day and next time you see a food cart or truck go support them.

Leave a Reply

