Random Thoughts With Robo – Walk With Me To Johnny Ganems Wine & Package Store

Talk about becoming a spoiled New Yorker. One thing that I miss about New York is my beloved Astor Wine and Spirit Booze Delivery. Go online, not speak to anyone, place your order and you could pick the delivery day you wanted. This was key because sometimes I did not want Jose (Mon – Thurs) doorman to know how much I was ordering. So, I would sometimes have it delivered on Friday (Joseph would work the lobby on Friday) and he wouldn’t think to much about the 2 large boxes getting dropped off. Then, we always had the Saturday delivery option.

That was when Luciano would accept the order and then drop it off at our door so it wouldn’t be in the lobby collecting stares. By the way you got free delivery with a $150 dollar minimum order. Don’t go there Judge Judy. I have seen some of you walking out of Busters with a college kid loaded up like a pack mule.

We don’t have that type of service here and it sucks. We can get wine and beer delivered but it is a hard NO on booze delivery. This bugs me because we would really would like to use Costco more. That is where we order our Summer Seltzers and Geranium’s maintenance wine. You know what I am talking about right? Maintenance wine is the booze that keeps momma happy when it is post work time. Sadly Costco is too far of an Uber back and forth and that would mess with our bottle refund ponzi scheme.

Que the Seinfield JFK golf club episode where Kramer and Newman steal a mail truck to return bottles for deposit.

So at least once a week I will make a 13 minute jaunt over to our local package store with my old lady cart and speak to the Ganem Family. I am frequenting a family run store and sure the prices may be a tad more but I am always welcomed by someone when I hit the door. They are good people.

Here is what that walk looks like.

Some of you have asked what distances are like here. I can make this easy peasie on foot and it is a beautiful walk.
You can tell that we are serious about our air conditioning down here. Those boys are busy during those Non-R months and September.
I love the houses on my walk. Mind you they rent for 3K for a two bedroom but they don’t have a pool so what is the point in that?
So much character with these houses. I love this one.
Super Nice Lady who lives here and is always saying hello. She also has one of those Neighborhood Libraries out front of her house and I drop off some old books of mine that I have collected. She has my “Don’t Stop The Carnival” that I love.
I love this house. The owner dresses the house each month and they go all out. And look, we keep our Skeletons on the porch year round!
During October it is all done in Pink. And she is a Banana Fan too!
No wonder I am taking allergy medicine in early February. It is this crap that helps keeping me stuffy.
It is a neat street
It does not matter what day of the week I am walking by this church but I find that the pastor is always loading stuff into the church, by himself.
I have offered numerous time to help but he always says he is fine.

I have also walked by this joint on a Sunday and it is a rocking and a rolling. The pastor has invited me to attend services numerous times.

FYI – These (they don’t call them mass, it is called a service) sessions can go long…..like 2 to 3 hours long.

Ok, I will say it – If I attended, I would be the only white face in the congregation. That doesn’t bother me one bit.

My Reasoning – I see the parishioners (probably not what they call themselves) walking in and they are dressed to the nines. I acknowledge that this is a very special day for their spiritual growth. I don’t need to be showing up as an interloper. I have been to Al Green’s Church and know what feels like.

Full Disclosure – I may have thrown a couple bucks into an envelope and put it in the mailbox. Pastor needs a better cart to carry the water up the ramp.
Let me say it loud enough for those of you in the back –
WE HAVE A FUCKING GUN PROBLEM HERE IN THE UNITED STATES.
Ok, I am off of my soapbox. Here is my trusty steed. I did notice that her tires are going bald and her suspension is starting to ‘flex’. Lawd help me if she fails on a trip back when I have a Wine and Booze order from the Gaynems.

Hey Abo – I may need you to bring me a Whole Foods Old Lady Cart on your next trip.

Next week we are getting ready for St. Patrick’s Week. (Notice I said week and not just day) They are dying the Forsythe Park Fountain green at Noon on Friday.

St. Patrick’s Week is going to be off the hook. They are going to Green this sucker and I am all for it.

Have a good week and be nice to people…..even if you don’t look like them.

Leave a comment