PSA from CBT – New Year’s Day Food for the Residents of the Northeast

Well it finally happened today. Actually it happened yesterday but since today is New Years Eve we are busy heading down to Times Square. Why you ask? We are heading to get into one of the Corrals to watch the ball drop. Anyway on Friday I was sitting in my corner office overlooking Wall Street having a discussion with one of my fellow ticket sellers about what we were doing New Years eve. This other ticket seller was telling me that she was going to have a house party with her friends. Because I am a fat kid at heart we went over the menu that she was to serve. One of the dishes that she mentioned was “Pigs n the Blanket” and immediately my ears perked up.

I asked her if she was going to have any other ‘Southern Food’ but that was pretty much it. What she was missing on the menu were the staple dishes that are served by Proper Southerners on New Years day. I asked her if she was to have Black Eyed Peas, Cabbage, Greens and I get the blank “hamster is dead” look. I try to explain to my Northeast friend the importance of these staples on New Years day and it is not sinking in. *YO RZ aka Savanah Rae’s Momma  – What the hell did you do when you lived here? Do I have to educate all these Yankees on my own?*

I  get done with my explanation of these foods and my friend tells me that she is going to have grilled cheese sandwiches with tomato bisque. I asked if she was going to have Pimento Cheese as an option and you guessed it – Negative! I start to explain what Pimento Cheese is and she interrupts me saying she has seen it in the grocery store in Southern Jersey when she goes to the shore. I tell her that no self respecting southerner would ever serve store bought pimento cheese and get on the horn with Mrs. Trumpet. I ask Mrs. Trumpet to please send me Iuka Mississippi’s world famous Pimento Cheese recipe that we have. Like a good wife because she realizes that I am the boss of her, obliges.

Now I can’t bust TG’s chops too bad here, she isn’t the only one who has never heard of Pimento Cheese. My Tiffany’s Shopping buddy LZ also never heard of Pimento Cheese either. *Hey West Side Girl – You do have the UWS speaking southern right?* I forward the menu over to my New Jersey friend and inform her that this pimento cheese will be best if it sits overnight. I do hope that her guests enjoy some South in Yo Mouth courtesy of Ashley who hailed from Iuka Mississippi!!!!

dacusHey AB – We need to hang with you because I think that I have used this pic of you now 3 times.  Love ya and Happy New Year!

peas-and-ham-450x337Not so much the ham steak will be on our plate but you get the idea.

img_0120-1Kiss My Ass if you think I am going to post this full recipe! It is worth it’s weight in gold I tell you!

Happy New Year to all my friends!

 

3 comments

Leave a comment